What Are Nursing Licensure Compact States?

Jan 6, 2016 | Travel Nursing

Travel nurses have many options when it comes to choosing the right location for them, but changing locations frequently can present several challenges. However, the process is simpler in some areas, like in nursing compact states.

Nursing compact states are a part of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), an agreement among several states to recognize the licenses of nurses in all participating states. Nurses who have obtained licenses in one of these states are allowed to practice in any other nursing compact state without having to obtain any new or additional licenses.

As of 2015, these 25 states are a part of the Nurse Licensure Compact:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Nursing compact states not only allow travel nurses’ licenses to transfer easily between states, but they also allow work history and other important information to transfer easily as well. This makes hiring new nurses a much faster process in these states and also eliminates additional applications or fees. RNs, LPNs and LVNs are all able to reap the benefits of this streamlined transfer process.

Though travel nurses have plenty of options in non-compact states, many travel nurses will find the process of finding new work in one of these 25 nursing compact states to be a smooth and simple transition.